« prev next »


Harlem Quartet
with Michael Brown, piano

Sunday, April 29, 2018 at 4pm

Returning to our series, The Harlem Quartet, praised for its "panache" by The New York Times, will be joined by pianist Michael Brown, described by The New York Times as a “young piano visionary” for a performance of Schumann’s Piano Quintet. They will also perform works by Haydn and Mendelssohn.

Artist Website: Harlem Quartet   Michael Brown



Quartet Op. 33 No. 2 in E-flat Major, “The Joke” Franz Joseph Haydn
    Allegro Moderato (1732-1809)
    Scherzo - Allegro  
    Largo e sustenuto  
Variations sérieuses, Op. 54 (Michael Brown) Felix Mendelssohn
Guarteto en Guaguancó Guido Gavilan
Take the 'A' Train (arr. Paul Chihara and Harlem Quartet) Billy Strayhorn
Piano Quintet in E-flat major, Op. 44 Robert Schumann
    Allegro brillante (1810-1856)
    In modo d’una Marcia: un poco largamente; Agitato  
    Scherzo: Molto vivace  
    Allegro ma non troppo  

Harlem Quartet and Michael Brown
are represented worldwide by Sciolino Artist Management www.samnyc.us

 Program is subject to change 


 Program Notes 

 About the Artists