2020 - 2021 Season Preview

For our 28th Season we present an outstanding series of concerts at the Howland Cultural Center in Beacon, NY. This remarkable hall is noted for its fine acoustics and is ideally suited to chamber music and other intimate concerts generating enthusiasm from audience and performers alike.

Howland has been one of our favorite places to perform over the years; we love the beautiful space, of course, but developing a relationship with your warm, enthusiastic audience has been a truly special experience for us.

         — Daedalus Quartet

Howland Chamber Music Circle is a world-class concert series that makes it possible to experience the highest quality music making in a welcoming, open atmosphere.
         
—
Gilles Vonsattel

Each season most of our concerts sell out, so subscribe early to guarantee your participation in our exciting new season.

We must acknowledge the moment we are in and the uncertainty ahead. At the time of this writing we have cancelled the fall concerts of our 2020-21 season and we do not know what the future will bring in terms of the global pandemic and its impact on future gatherings.
 
Nonetheless, we look forward to the hope of starting season with our annual Piano Festival and celebrating as we come out the other side of this crisis. With that spirit in mind, we are happy to announce our plans for our 28th season beginning in January 2021.
 
Tickets for these concerts are not yet on sale. Once we have confirmation that the season will in fact commence, we will open our ticket sales.

2020-2021 Program Schedule:

1/10/2021 - Roman Rabinovich, piano

Praised by The New York Times for his “uncommon sensitivity and feeling”, the eloquent young pianist Roman Rabinovich is the winner of the 12th Arthur Rubinstein International Piano Master Competition. He has performed through-out Europe and the USA in such prestigious venues as Leipzig’s Gewandhaus, London’s Wigmore Hall, the Great Hall of Moscow Conservatory, Cité de la Musique in Paris and the Millennium Stage at Washington DC’s Kennedy Center.

Returning to our series, he will perform works by Medtner, Haydn and Beethoven’s Appassionata Sonata.

   
1/31/2021 - Dominic Cheli, piano

Dominic Cheli’s playing has been described as “spontaneous yet perfect, the best of how a young person can play” (Symphony Magazine). He enjoys a rapidly advancing career, including his Walt Disney Concert Hall Debut with legendary conductor Valery Gergiev, his Carnegie Hall Recital Debut, as well as a very well received CD of Clementi Piano Sonatas on the Naxos label.

In 2017, Dominic was named first prize winner of the Concert Artists Guild Competition in New York City. For us, he will perform a highly imaginative program he entitled The Schumanns and Brahms.

   
2/21/2021-Charles Richard-Hamelin, piano

Silver medalist and laureate of the Krystian Zimerman award of the best sonata at the International Chopin Piano Competition in 2015, Charles Richard-Hamelin is standing out as one of the most important pianists of his generation. He also won the second prize at the Montréal International Musical Competition and the third prize and special award for the best performance of a Beethoven sonata at the Seoul International Music Competition in South Korea.

Renowned for his interpre-tation of Chopin, his first appearance in our series will include works by Chopin, along with works by Liszt and Scriabin.

   
3/7/2021 - Fauré Piano Quartett

The musicians of the Fauré Quartett are pioneers in many ways. After they met during their studies in 1995 in Karlsruhe for the 150th anniversary of Gabriel Fauré , they quickly realized, that this combination offered new insights into undiscovered repertoire.

Touring worldwide, they have appeared at the world's most important chamber music venues; including Concertgebouw Amsterdam, Alte Oper Frankfurt, Berlin Philharmony, Teatro Colon Buenos Aires and Wigmore Hall London. Performing for us for the first time, they will perform true masterpieces in the piano quartet genre, works by Mahler, Fauré and Brahms.

   
3/21/2021 - New York Polyphony

Praised for a “rich, natural sound that’s larger and more complex than the sum of its parts,” (National Public Radio) New York Polyphony is one of the foremost vocal chamber ensembles active today. The four men, “singers of superb musicianship and vocal allure,” (The New Yorker) give vibrant, modern voice to repertoire ranging from Gregorian chant to cutting-edge modern compositions.

Their dedication to innovative programming, as well as a focus on rare and rediscovered Renaissance and medieval works, has not only earned New York Polyphony two GRAMMY nominations and wide acclaim, but also helped to move early music into the classical mainstream.

Unified by themes of love-and-longing, their program they call A LILY AMONG THORNS mingles ancient and modern works of Renaissance and contemporary masters of polyphony.

   
4/11/2021-Vera Quartet
our season's Founders Concert

Since its formation in 2015, the Vera Quartet has quickly established itself as one of the most exciting ensembles of its generation. The Grand Prize winner of the 2017 Plowman and 2017 Yellow Springs chamber music competitions, the Vera Quartet has been named the String Quartet-in-Residence at the Curtis Institute of Music for 2018-2020. A winner of Astral’s 2018 National Auditions, the Quartet also won Second Prize at the 2017 M-Prize Chamber Arts Competition as well as the St. Lawrence Award at the 2018 Wigmore Hall String Quartet Competition.

The performance of the Vera Quartet has been designated as the Founders Concert for the 2020-21 season. Their program, in addition to the majestic late Beethoven quartet Op. 127, will include the innovative Quartet No. 3 by Alfred Schnittke.

   

 

5/2/2021 - Infusion Baroque

Infusion Baroque draws new audiences to early music through a truly captivating concert experience, deftly combining seasoned musicianship with theatrical elements. Playing music of the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries on historical instruments, the four women of Infusion Baroque enthrall audiences across North America with their creative and interactive programming.

Playing for us for the first time, their program is entitled VIRTUOSA, a focus on great female performers of their time and their extraordinary contribution to the art of music.

   
5/16/2021 - Attacca Quartet

The internationally acclaimed and Grammy-winning Attacca Quartet is one of the most dynamic ensembles of their generation. Praised by The Strad for possessing “maturity beyond its members’ years,” they were formed at the Juilliard School in 2003.

Winners of many string quartet competitions, from 2011-2013 the quartet served as the Juilliard Graduate Resident String Quartet, and for the 2014-2015 season they were selected as the Quartet in Residence by the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York.

The Attacca have become renown for their inter-pretations of Haydn quartets, one of which they will include in their program, along with the Circle’s premiere of Richard Wilson’s Quartet No. 6.