streaming from the Hudson Valley

ALIVEmusica is an exciting new collaboration from a group of leading chamber music presenters in New York's Hudson Valley.

The Hudson Valley region has long had a thriving culture for the arts, and in particular Chamber Music.

We have joined together to present renowned musicians performing live in a superb concert hall, and streamed directly to you, our esteemed patrons, and to audiences beyond as well.

During the fall of 2020, we will present four concerts from the unique ambiance of the Howland Cultural Center in Beacon, NY, an acoustically and visually stunning space, appreciated by both musicians and audiences. Our first concerts are listed below. Streaming details to follow shortly.

Be sure to catch these concerts as they are broadcast, and feel free to return to enjoy them again afterwards.

Please select the participating co-presenter of your choice in order to watch from their website.
Howland Chamber Music Circle The Chapel Restoration Newburgh Chamber Music Pawling Concert Series
Howland Chamber
Music Circle
The Chapel
Chamber Music
Concert Series

Upcoming Concerts ...
Jesse Mills and Rieko Aizawa, violin/piano
November 15, 2020, 8:00 PM (ET)

Founding members of the Horszowski Trio

   Olivier Messiaen: Theme and Variations for Violin and Piano
   Ludwig van Beethoven: Sonata No. 10 in G Major, Op. 96 for Violin and Piano
      Allegro moderato
      Adagio espressivo
      Scherzo: Allegro—Trio
      Poco allegreto
   Paul Chihara: "Storm" after The Tempest Sonata (from Four Reveries on Beethoven, 2018) for Solo Piano
   Maurice Ravel: Sonata No. 2 in G Major for Violin and Piano
      Blues Moderato
      Perpetuum mobile. Allegro

 Program Notes 


Past Concerts ...
Colin and Eric Jacobsen, violin/cello
October 25, 2020, 8:00 PM (ET)

Founders of The Knights chamber ensemble and Brooklyn Rider string quartet

   Heinrich Biber: Passacaglia, from Rosary Sonata
   Reinhold Gliere: Duets, Op. 39
   Niccolò Paganini: Caprice No. 1
   Colin Jacobsen: Lydia's Reflection
   Maurice Ravel: Sonata for Violin and Cello

 Program Notes 

Michael Brown, piano
October 11, 2020, 8:00 PM (ET)

Winner of the 2018 Emerging Artist Award from Lincoln Center
and a 2015 Avery Fisher Career Grant

   Haydn: Fantasia (Capriccio) in C Major, Hob. XVII:4
   Debussy: Hommage à Haydn
   Ravel: Menuet sur le nom d’Haydn
   Michael Brown: Breakup Etude for the Right Hand Alone (World Premiere)
   Scriabin: Prelude and Nocturne for Left Hand Alone, Op. 9
   Beethoven: Sonata No. 8 in C minor, Op. 13 (“Pathétique”)

 Program Notes 

Wynona Wang, piano
September 13, 2020, 8:00 PM (ET)

First prize winner of the 2018 Concert Artist Guild International Competition

   Beethoven: Sonata No. 26, Op. 81a
   Rachmaninoff: Sonata No. 1, Op. 28

© 2020 Howland Chamber Music Circle, Inc.